Home > News > Gujarat News

BJP releases list of four candidates for Gujarat polls

Posted on Nov 29, 10:22PM | UNI

The BJP today released the list of four candidates for the second phase of next month's Assembly elections in Gujarat.

BJP national president Nitin Gadkari has approved the four candidates on the recommendations of Gujarat's State Election Committee.

The candidates are- Jaysinh Mansinhji Chauhan (Prantij), Rohitji Chanduji Thakor (Dahegam), Shambhuji Chelaji Thakor (Gandhinagar South) and Ashok Ranchhodbhai Patel (Gandhinagar North).

The BJP had released the second list of 89 candidates last night and kept pending the names for five constituencies.

The BJP sources said the party was waiting for the move by the opposition Congress for these seats.

As far as tribal Zalod seat was concerned, the BJP has been waiting for the Congress to announce its tribal candidate as there are two tribal groups in the area.

Former minister of state for home Amit Shah, an accused in Sohrabuddin Sheikh fake encounter case, and several senior ministers in Chief Minister Narendra Modi's Cabinet figured in the second list.

In the second list too, the BJP has shunned the "no repeat theory" successfully deployed in last Assembly election in 2007.

It has repeated majority of the sitting MLAs and steered cleared from experimenting.