New Delhi, Feb.4 ANI | 9 months ago

Describing Telangana issue as 'vital', Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Tuesday said the government will be presenting a bill relating to the creation of the state of Telangana in Parliament.

Addressing the media after an all party meeting convened by the Speaker of the Lok Sabha Meira Kumar, Dr. Singh said, "There is the vital issue of Telangana and we will be bringing a bill before the parliament for its approval. I sincerely hope that after a long debate extending over many years, the house in its wisdom will be able to pass the bill relating to creation of state of Telangana."

"This is going to be the last session of the 15th Lok Sabha. There are important legislations pending for approval by the parliament. There are several important legislations relating to the anti corruption measures," Dr. Singh added.

Dr. Singh also said that there are important legislation in the Parliament relating to Women's Reservation Bill and the control of communal violence which are also awaiting approval.

"I sincerely hope that Parliament in its wisdom will transact the essential business, which is the primary concern for any legislature in a parliamentary democracy," Dr. Singh said.

Earlier today, Meira Kumar had called an all party meeting here to ensure the smooth functioning of Parliament.

The two week long session will began from tomorrow.

On Monday, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kamal Nath had appealed to all political parties to give the highest priority to anti-corruption bills, without causing disruptions during the last session of the 15th Lok Sabha.

He further said that though the 15th Lok Sabha has passed lesser number of Bills, but it also passed some historical bills.

The government has listed 39 bills including 6 anti-graft bills for this session. Bills like the Prevention of Corruption Amendment Bill and the Public Procurement Bill are with the standing committee.

The Whistleblower Protection Bill and the Judicial Standard and Accountability Bill have been passed by the Lok Sabha but they are pending in the Rajya Sabha.

(Posted on 04-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |