Thursday, February 11 2016

Home > News > More News

EC appoints observers for elections in four states

Posted on Feb 04 2014 | IANS

New Delhi, Feb 4 : The Election Commission of India has appointed special observers for the biennial Rajya Sabha elections in Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Odisha, and West Bengal on Feb 7, a statement said Tuesday.

"The duties of the special observers will be to keep a watch on electoral malpractices including role of money power. In case specific complaints are received, the same will promptly be looked into," the Commission said.

"The observers will also keep constant watch on the news and media reports related to biennial election. In case of any electoral malpractices, the same will be brought to the notice of the Commission," it added.

The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Gujarat has been appointed the special observer for Andhra Pradesh and the Tripura CEO will look after Assam. Karnataka's CEO will be the observer in Odisha and Uttar Pradesh's CEO is West Bengal's observer.

"The Commission has already appointed the observers and Director Investigation of Income Tax of the concerned states have also been directed by the commission to keep a strict and vigilant watch on the role of money power etc."

"After completion of election, a report will also be furnished by the special observers to the Commission," the EC said.

Latest News: