New Delhi, Feb 1 IANS | 9 months ago

Criticising the Delhi government for its failure to check the power tariff hike, the BJP Saturday protested in the national capital and demanded an immediate roll-back.

Staging a protest at Bhajanpura, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Delhi unit chief Vijay Goel said Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal has failed to check power tariff hikes and that the party would hold protest marches all over the city.

"Kejriwal-led AAP had promised that after forming the government, they will reduce power price. Instead power tariff has increased by six to eight percent," said Goel.

"We demand immediate roll back of the hike in recent power tariff and uninterrupted power supply across the city," he added.

BSES Yamuna Power Limited (BYPL) increased its tariff by eight percent, BSES Rajdhani Power Limited (BRPL) by six percent and Tata Power Delhi Distribution Limited (TPDDL) by seven percent after the go ahead from the Delhi Electricity Regulatory Commission.

The National Thermal Power Corporation has threatened to stop power supply to BSES Yamuna if the Reliance Infra-backed company does not pay its dues. The company said this would lead to 10-hour daily power cuts.

BYPL told the Delhi government that it was unable to clear the dues of power generation companies due to a precarious cash flow situation.

Goel said the government must resolve the issue with the power discoms in such a way that auditing must go on and people must not suffer from power related problems.

Condemning the six-eight percent power tariff hike, Kejriwal Friday said the power companies should have waited for the audit reports of the firms.

(Posted on 01-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |