Hyderabad, Jan 30 IBNS | 1 year ago

The Andhra Pradesh Assembly on Thursday was adjourned for an hour amid uproar during debate over Telangana Bill.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy on Wednesday said he will quit politics if the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation 2013 Bill is introduced in Parliament in its current form.

The Bill that proposes the formation of a separate Telangana state was sent by President Pranab Mukherjee to the Andhra Pradesh assembly for review earlier this month.

The Bill is meant to be sent back to Reddy on Thursday, reports said.

Stating that the Bill is unacceptable in the current form, the Chief Minister has written to the President Pranab Mukherjee seeking three more weeks to complete the debate on the AP Reorganisation Bill 2013.

The Andhra Pradesh Assembly session was on Jan 23 extended till Jan 30 to continue discussion on the Telangana Bill.

The draft Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill-2013 was tabled in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly on Dec 16 amid clashes between Telanganaand Seemandhara legislators.

The new state of Telangana is expected to have 10 districts, a population of 35.38 million and an area of 1.14 lakh square km and including Andhra Pradesh capital Hyderabad, which will serve as a common capital for 10 years.

The GoM (Group of Ministers) earlier had submitted its draft on bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh and creation of Telangana as the 29th state of India.

India's ruling Congress party in July 2013 approved a move to carve out the Telangana region of Andhra Pradesh, giving in to a five-decade-long demand from supporters in a major decision ahead of 2014 elections.

Officially urging the government to take constitutional steps that will see the state's formation, the Congress Working Committee (CWC) passed a resolution on the same.

The Telangana region, which merged with Andhra Pradesh in 1956 against the wishes of many local residents, comprises 10 districts - Adilabad, Hyderabad, Khammam, Karimnagar, Mahbubnagar, Medak, Nalgonda, Nizamabad, Rangareddy, and Warangal.

(Posted on 30-01-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries