Chennai, May 25 UNI | 2 months ago

For Pon Radhakrishnan, who is the lone BJP leader in Tamil Nadu to get a minister post in the NDA-led government at the Centre, it is not a new stint. Though he is the only BJP candidate from the state to be successful in the 2014 general elections at Kaniyakumari constituency, Radhakrishnan was elected to the Lok Sabha for the first time in 1999 from Nagercoil segment.

In the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government he was first a union minister of state in the ministry of youth affairs and sports. Later he served as minister of state in the ministries of urban development and poverty alleviation and road transport and highways.

However, the 62-year old leader lost the same Nagercoil constituency to a CPI-M candidate in 2004 and was defeated by DMK candidate in Kanniyakumari in 2009. The only other to taste a win in the BJP's seven-party 'rainbow alliance' was Pattali Makkal Katchi's (PMK) Anbumani Ramadoss, former union health minister (PMK), who won in Dharmapuri.

After vehemently demanding 14 seats, actor politician Vijayakanth's Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK), which was also an ally of NDA, drew a blank. Advocate by profession, Radhakrishnan was also State BJP president.

(Posted on 27-05-2014)