New Delhi, May 26 IANS | 1 year ago

The BJP-led NDA comprises 29 parties but only four allies have got place in the Narendra Modi cabinet, while one has got a minister of state post.

Shiv Sena, which, at 18, has the second highest number of MPs in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), has senior party leader Anant Geete cabinet, while Telugu Desam Party (TDP), with 16 Lok Sabha MPs, has Ashok Gajapathi Raju.

Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) with six MPs meanwhile saw party chief Ramvilas Paswan sworn-in as a cabinet minister, while from long-time ally Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), which has four MPs, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, the wife of Punjab Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal, was inducted.

A total of 23 cabinet ministers took oath along with Modi.

Upendra Kushwaha of Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RSLP) was sworn in as a minister of state. RSLP got two seats in Bihar.

(Posted on 26-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries