New Delhi, May 26 IBNS | 5 months ago

While Congress supremo Sonia Gandhi departed from the Central government after her party suffered a massive defeat in the Lok Sabha polls recently, another Gandhi- seven-time MP Maneka Sanjay Gandhi- made her entry into the union cabinet in the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led government on Monday.

Maneka Gandhi on Monday took oath as a minister in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's cabinet in the presence of world leaders, dignitaries and guests.

The senior BJP leader had won the Lok Sbaha polls from Pilibhit seat in Uttar Pradesh.

She is the younger daughter-in-law of India's former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.

Amid the presence of high profile dignitaries from India and beyond its borders, Narendra Modi on Monday took oath as India's 15th Prime Minister at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi, capping a political carnival in the world's biggest democracy that lasted for months and saw the man of the moment's inexorable journey to the hot seat after an unprecedented electioneering.

President Pranab Mukherjee administered the oath of office and secrecy to Modi, who became a widely accepted leader from a polarising force in Indian politics.

Mukherjee also administered the oath of office and secrecy to Modi's council of ministers in the presence of other leaders of this part of the world including Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

(Posted on 26-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |