Monday, February 08 2016

Home > News > India News

Modi to have a 45-member Council of Minister

Posted on May 26 2014 | IBNS

New Delhi, May 26 : As Narendra Modi gears up to take the baton of India on Monday, the Bharatiya Janata Party-led government is all set to have a 45-member strong Council of Ministers, reports said.

Out of these, 24 are Cabinet Ministers. ten are Ministers of State with Independent Charge, while the rest are Ministers of State.

According to reports, BJP president Rajnath Singh will be Home Minister while Arun Jaitley will be in charge of the Finance Ministry.

Sushma Swaraj will reportedly be External Affairs minister. She will be assisted by former Army Chief General VK Singh as Minister of State.

A one-time have-not, today wielding colossal political power, hailed by patrons as a magic bullet and reviled by critics as a totalitarian despot, Modi will be sworn in as India's 15th Prime Minister, concluding the frenzy that has lasted for weeks in the world's largest democracy.

In the forecourt of the majestic Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi, when the clock striked six in the evening, Modi will be formally handed over the reins of the world's seventh largest, second-most populous nation in the presence of nearly 4,000 guests.

Indian President Pranab Mukherjee will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the 63-year-old Modi and his council of ministers in the presence of other leaders of this part of the world including Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

Following the swearing-in, he will move in to New Delhi's 7 Race Course Road, the clutch of seven bungalows spread over 12 acres that has housed India's heads of government for three decades.

Latest News: