Raipur, May 25 UNI | 2 months ago

Glowing tributes were paid to the Congress top leaders and security personnel who were martyred in Naxal attack at Jheeram Ghati on this day last year.

In the first anniversary of martyrdom, several programmes were organised in all district and block headquarters in the state. Homage was paid to senior Congress leaders Nand Kumar Patel, Vidya Charan Shukla, Mahendra Karma, Uday Mudliyar, Yogendra Sharma and other leaders besides several security personnel.

Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress President Bhupesh Baghel today unveiled the statue of late Mahendra Karma in Faraspal. Besides the state capital, special programmes were organised in Kharsiya, Rajnandgaon, Dharsiwa, Bastar and Dantewada to mark the occasion.

Rebels targeted the Congress convoy while they were returning after attending 'Parivartan Yatra' on this day just a year ago.

(Posted on 26-05-2014)