Hyderabad, May 25 IANS | 5 months ago

Barely 10 days after the election results, the YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) Sunday received a jolt with two of its MPs crossing over to the Telugu Desam Party (TDP).

While S.P.Y. Reddy joined the TDP in the presence of its leader N. Chandrababu Naidu in Delhi, another MP Butta Renuka, after a meeting with Naidu Sunday evening, said that though she has not quit the YSRCP, she will work as an associate member of the TDP.

Both the MPs, hailing from Kurnool district in Andhra Pradesh (Seemandhra) said if necessary they were ready to contest again. They justified their action saying they want development in their respective constituencies.

Reddy, who was elected from Nandyal on YSRCP ticket, met Naidu and accepted TDP's membership. He was accompanied by Neelakantham, husband of Butta Renuka, the MP from Kurnool.

Reddy told reporters that he joined the TDP for the development of his constituency. He claimed that he was elected from Nandyal on the basis of his popularity in the constituency.

He had quit the Congress and joined the YSRCP late last year after the Congress-led UPA government decided to carve out a Telangana state.

He was re-elected to Lok Sabha from Nandyal constituency in Kurnool district. Renuka is a first time MP from Kurnool constituency.

TDP leader C.M. Ramesh claimed that many YSRCP legislators will join the TDP soon.

Meanwhile, YSRCP leader M.V. Mysura Reddy alleged that TDP is indulging in unethical methods to engineer defections from YSRCP.

The YSRCP had bagged eight out of 25 Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh (Seemandhra). The TDP won 15 and its ally, the BJP two seats.

TDP came to power in Andhra Pradesh by bagging 102 seats in the 175-member assembly. YSRCP won 67 seats.

(Posted on 25-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |