Chennai, May 20 UNI | 2 months ago

The newly elected MLA of the ruling AIADMK from Alandur Assembly constituency V N P Venkataraman, was sworn-in by Speaker P Dhanapal at the latter's Chamber in the Secretariat today.

Chief Minister and AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa was present at the swearing-in of Mr Venkataraman.

The by-election to the Assembly seat was held along with the Lok Sabha polls in the state on April 24.

Mr Venkataraman defeated DMK's R S Bharathy by a margin of 18,708 votes.

The by-election was necessitated following the resignation of actor-politician Vijaykanth's DMDK member Panruti Ramachandran. Mr Ramachandran later rejoined the AIADMK.

(Posted on 21-05-2014)