Shimla, May 20 UNI | 2 months ago

Wresting its lost Assembly seat from Independent candidate (who was supporting Congress government) BJP MLA Narinder Thakur, who was recently elected for Sujanpur seat, took oath today.

Speaker of state legislative assembly B B L Butail administerated oath to Narinder Thakur (who is son of former BJP stallwart late Mr Jagdev Thakur) in a simple ceremony held in the chamber of speaker in presence of number of BJP MLA here today.

The number of BJP MLA has increased to 27 from 26. The Congress enjoy wafferthin majority in the assembly having 35 members excluding speaker. State Assembly has four Independent and one HLP member.

Mr Thakur defeated Congress candidate Anita Rana by a margin of 540 votes who was wife of former Independent MLA Rajinder Singh Rana who left this seat as he fought as Congress candidate for Lok Sabha seat but both lost election.

One of Congress MLA Ram Kumar of Doon was lodging in jail on charge of murder of a girl.

(Posted on 21-05-2014)