London, May 19 ANI | 4 months ago

The Turkey police have arrested three persons involved in the Soma mine explosion, on account of multiple deaths due to the entry of carbon monoxide gas into the tunnels.

The police have detained 25 people, including numerous mining officials for interrogation, for the country's worst mining disaster that claimed 301 lives.

Public prosecutor Bekir Sahiner said that the crime for which the suspects are accused includes causing multiple deaths and injuries due to negligence. However, he did not reveal the identities of the arrested suspects.

It is still unclear whether the suspects would face charges as Soma Holdings maintains that the catastrophe was not caused due to inattention and carelessness.

According to the BBC, the catastrophe sparked anger across the country with protests growing in the western city of Izmir, Istanbul and Ankara.

Reports further added that Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan has been criticized for his insensitive reaction following the disaster.

Meanwhile, it is reported that dozens of people were detained as they attempted to travel to the explosion site to offer their condolences.

(Posted on 19-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |