Patna, May 19 IANS | 5 months ago

Nitish Kumar will decide Monday if he wants to stay on as Bihar chief minister, a post he quit Saturday after his party was reduced to two Lok Sabha seats in the general election.

Kumar was initially adamant on not withdrawing his resignation, but Sunday sought time till Monday to reconsider his decision after Janata Dal (United) workers said they will not accept anyone else and asked him to withdraw the resignation.

All eyes are now on the JD-U legislature party meeting Monday where Nitish Kumar may announce his decision to take back his resignation or he might press for the selection of a new leader.

A senior party leader close to Kumar told IANS here that he is adamant and does not want to change his stand.

"By resigning as chief minister, Nitish Kumar played a master stroke that not only reunited the party leaders and workers, but also led to widespread demands by all sections of people across Bihar that he should continue for the sake of development," he said.

Another legislator said the party has no value without its brand name, which is Nitish Kumar.

"In all likelihood, Nitish Kumar will relent as JD-U legislators have made it clear they are against electing any other leader," JD-U legislator Sanjay Singh said.

JD-U spokesperson Neeraj Kumar said the party legislators had expressed full faith in Nitish Kumar and decided to re-elect him as their leader.

The JD-U won only two of the state's 40 Lok Sabha seats -- as against 20 seats in 2009, when it was in alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party. The JD-U parted ways with the BJP last year ending a 17-year-long alliance.

(Posted on 19-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |