New Delhi, May 18 ANI | 1 year ago

Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath, flanked by two other Election Commissioners- Harishankar Brahma and Syed Nazim Ahmad Zaidi met President Pranab Mukherjee and submitted the final list containing the names of all the 543 members of the Lok Sabha.

"We have presented the notification of newly elected members of the 16th Lok Sabha and have submitted the final authentic list as provided under law to the President," Sampath said to the reporters outside the Rashtrapati Bhawan ,after meeting with the President.

He also stated that the President congratulated the Election Commission for conducting a successful election.

"The President was expressing that it is one of the most mammoth exercises in the whole world in any democratic country. This kind of exercise with over 83 crore voters spread across every nook and corner of the country, organizing in a very successful manner, the president expressed his appreciation of the whole exercise of election management were conducted," he said.

"He congratulated the entire election machinery and also conveyed his congratulations to the voters of this country who turned up in large numbers in making this democratic exercise meaningful," he added.

The handing over of the list marks the beginning of the process of Government formation when the President can initiate moves in this regard.

(Posted on 19-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries