Lucknow, May 18 UNI | 2 months ago

Nineteen Muslims candidates ended up as runners up from different Lok Sabha constituencies of Uttar Pradesh, but none of them could make it to make to the 16th Lok Sabha.

The ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) was leading the pack with 10 Muslims candidate runners up with the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) having seven Muslim runners up and Congress having two.

Altogether 44 Muslim candidates were given tickets by three main political parties, but none were successful.

While the BSP fielded the highest number of 19 Muslim candidates followed by 14 of the SP and 11 of the Congress. Other political parties like Peace Party, Ulema Council and even Aam Admi Party also fielded Muslim candidates, but most of them had to face humiliating defeat against BJP candidates.

BJP had failed to field any Muslim candidate from UP. Party leaders said that no Muslim candidate had came forward to seek a ticket from the party. The SP Muslim candidates who were on the second spot were Nahid Hasan (Kairana), Shahnawaj Rana (Bijnore), Gulam Mohammad (Baghpat), M T Hasan (Moradabad),Nasir Ahmed Khan (Rampur), Safiqur Rahman Burq (Sambhal), Humera Akhtar (Amroha), Ayesha Islam (Bareilly), Kaiser Jahan (Sitapur) amd Shabbir Ahmed (Bahriach). The BSP candidates who were runners up are Kadir Rana (Muzaffarnagar), Shahid Ikhlaq (Meerut), Daud Ahmed (Dhaurara), Afzal Siddique (Fatehpur) Mohammad Muquim (Doomariaganj), Asif Siddique (Pratapgarh) and Niyaj Ahmed (Deoria).

Congress candidate Imran Masoon was runners up in Saharanpur while Bollywood star Raj Babbar was second at Ghaziabad.

In the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, eight Muslim candidates were elected to go to the Lok Sabha from UP. BSP and Congress had four each of the victorious Muslims but the SP had to face Muslim annoyance due to an

alliance between Mulayam Singh Yadav and Kalyan Singh, who had been accused in the Ayodhya Babri Masjid demolition case.

In 2004 elections, 11 Muslims were successful in reaching the Lok Sabha from UP, in which SP had the major share of seven and remaining four were of the BSP.

In the 2012 UP assembly elections, 69 Muslims had won the elections with maximum of 42 from the ruling Samajwadi Party. In 2007 assembly elections too, 56 Muslims were elected to the Vidhan Sabha.

Muslim vote bank has always been a bone of contention in UP between the so called secular parties and during this elections too, SP and BSP promised to give reservation to the community, if voted to power.

(Posted on 18-05-2014)