Lucknow, May 18 UNI | 2 months ago

Around 28 candidates out of the total 80 candidates, who won the Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh,have several criminal cases pending against them including 22 with serious crimes like attempt to murders and kidnappings.

A total of 68 crorepatis are also on the winning list in UP.

Association for Democratic Reforms(ADR) in a statement here today said out of the total 1,288 candidates in the fray from 80 Lok Sabha seats in the state, 235 have criminal background in which only 28 managed to win.

However, dreaded criminals and mafia dons, including Mukhtar Ansari, Dhananjay Singh D P Yadav and others failed to win the elections.

Two BJP leaders charged with instigating Muzaffarnagar riots last year-- BJP legislature party leader Hukum Singh(Kairana)and Kunwar Bhartendra( Bijnore) also won the elections. All of the criminal background winners in this elections belonged to the BJP.

Ramshanker Katehari,from Agra with 21 cases tops the list followed by Babulal of Fatehpur Sikri with 13 cases and Uma Bharati also with 13 cases. But both Babulal and Ms Bharati have attempt to murder charges against them. Keshav Prasad Maurya from Phulpur with 8 cases including an attempt to murder.

Swami Sachidanand Hari Sakshi from Unnao have eight cases against him including attempt to murder and kidnapping charges.

Other prominent newly elected BJP MPs with criminal cases are Bhairon Prasad Mishra from Banda (three cases), Braj Bhushan Sharan Singh from Kaiserganj (two cases) and Yogi Adityanath from Gorakhpur (three cases).

(Posted on 18-05-2014)