Mandya, May 18 UNI | 2 months ago

The Congress has blamed themselves for losing in the Mandya Lok Sabha constituency despite the presence of political bigwigs such as Housing Minister M H Ambareesh and the former External affairs minister S M Krishna in the district.

Defeat in the Mandya is a setback for the Congress as it had won by-elections six months earlier with a big margin in the constituency.

Mandya LS segment has traditionally been a Congress bastion. The party has won on 13 out of 19 elections held since 1952. Mr Ambareesh and Mr Krishna have had a stronghold in their Assembly constituencies, Mandya and Maddur, respectively. However, the results proved that the two leaders popularity has decreased.

Owing to bad health, Mr Ambareesh could not campaign for the party. He only attended one public meeting just a day before the polling on April 17.

The Janata Dal(S) candidate, C S Puttaraju, who won the electoral battle, secured 12,793 votes more than Ramya, the Congress nominee for this LS seat.

The Congress received only 6,926 votes more than the Janata Dal (S) in Mandya. Mr Ambareesh had won the Mandya Assembly seat against two-time MLA M Srinivas of JD(S) by a huge margin of 42,180 votes in the 2013 elections.

The Congress leaders in the Mandya told UNI that segments in Maddur, Melkote and Srirangapatna have completely failed to work for the party to reclaim the LS seat. But, the party leaders in Malavalli have strived hard in which highest votes were polled, a senior functionary of the party said.

The Congress was backed by the Karnataka Rajya Raitha Sangha (KRRS), AHINDA and progressive groups in the district. The party also failed to gain political mileage due to popular schemes introduced by the one-year-old Siddaramaiah government.

The Mandya LS comprises eight Assembly segments. While Malavalli, Maddur, Melkote, Mandya, Srirangapatna, Nagamangala, K R Pet Assembly constituencies fall under the jurisdiction of Mandya district, Krishnaraj Nagar Assembly constituency falls under the purview of Mysore district.

(Posted on 18-05-2014)