Chennai, May 17 UNI | 3 months ago

The backward Tiruvallur Lok Sabha Constituency created a record of sorts as it returned the sitting AIADMK MP, Dr P Venugopal, by a record margin of more than three lakh votes while Coimbatore had the dubious distinction of returning the candidate, also from the ruling AIADMK, with the lowest margin.

Dr Venugopal, who won the 2009 polls by a slender margin of about 45,000 votes, retained the seat defeating D Ravikumar of Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi by a staggering margin of 3,23,430 votes, the highest-ever victory margin recorded in this year's poll.

Due to the dynamic efforts of Commercial Taxes Minister B V Ramana, who was the AIADMK District Secretary and in-charge of the constituency for the polls who managed to penetrate deeper into the remote areas, Dr Venugopal was able to win by a huge margin.

The second highest victory margin was recorded in Theni Lok Sabha Constituency in the southern Tamil Nadu where R Parthipan of AIADMK defeated Pon Muthuramalingam of DMK by a whopping margin of 3,14,532 votes, a far cry from 2009 polls, when J M Haroon Rashid of Congress won by a wafer-thin margin of 6,302 votes against the AIADMK nominee.

While it was Mr Modi's show all the way at the national level, there was no such perceptible Modi wave in Tamil Nadu.

It turned out to be 'Amma's' show in Tamil Nadu as the ruling AIADMK, led by Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa, swept the polls winning a phenomenal 37 of the total 39 seats to emerge as the third largest party in Parliament just behind the two national Parties BJP and the Congress.

The other two seats were bagged by the BJP (Kanniyakumari) and the BJP's ally the PMK (Dharmapuri).

It was a record of sorts for the AIADMK as for the first time in the electoral history of the State a single party had managed to clinch such huge numbers single-handedly, that too, in multi-cornered contests while handing out crushing defeats to DMK, Congress, the Left parties and BJP's allies--Actor Vijayakanth-led DMDK and Vaiko's MDMK who were not able to win even a single seat, despite BJP Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi addressing a series of campaign meetings for the BJP Front.

(Posted on 17-05-2014)