Hubli, May 17 UNI | 2 months ago

Divide, dissidence and corruption had laid BJP low, when it lost power in Karnataka last year, but the saffron party had made a remarkable comeback, sweeping seats in the Lok Sabha elections under 'Modi wave', winning 17 out of 28 Lok Sabha seats in the state.

After the voters dumped the party that witnessed the ouster of its leader B S Yeddyurappa from BJP briefly during the Assembly polls, it came back strongly once the Lingayat leader returned home after a year-long absence.

Mumbai-Karnataka region is a good case study for BJP's resurgence within one year as it won nine segments in the region with candidates riding on the Modi wave to victory.

Dharwad district, which opted for Congress to Karnataka Assembly in four out of total six constituencies, also supported BJP this time.

Even the bastion of Congress Kalghatagi voted in favour of BJP during the current election.

BJP candidate and president of state BJP unit Pralhad Joshi easily retained his seat under the surge of Modi wave.

He said the party came out of all its past mistakes and strengthened it, through uniting all its members.

While Modi wave led to the party's success in North Karnataka, Yedyurappa factor has also its effect.

Apart from that, the strategy of party this time had been different and almost all workers, including the first line leaders sincerely worked for the success of the party, Mr Joshi claimed.

The region had steadfastly supported BJP since 1996. Both Joshi and Suresh Angadi from Belgaum retained their seat enroute to score a hat-trick of wins.

In neighbouring Uttara Kannada, a bastion of the BJP, Ananthkumar Hegde won hands down for the fifth time.

Young Shivkumar Udasi also faced no problem in Haveri, while seasoned Ramesh Jigajinagi was again triumphant in Bijapur.

(Posted on 17-05-2014)