Wednesday, February 10 2016

Home > News > Andhra Pradesh News

Congress heavyweights in Telangana bite dust

Posted on May 16 2014 | IANS

Hyderabad, May 16 : Many Congress heavyweights lost in the assembly elections in Telangana.

Former deputy chief minister Damodar Rajanarasimha, an aspirant of the chief minister's post, lost in Andole in Medak district. He was defeated by veteran Telugu actor Babu Mohan of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS).

Former president of the party's Andhra Pradesh unit, D. Srinivas had to face defeat in Nizamabad rural constituency.

Telangana Congress chief Ponnala Lakshmaiah was trailing in Jangaon constituency in Warangal district.

M. Sashidhar Reddy, vice chairman of National Disaster Management Authority (NMDA), lost in Sanatnagar constituency in Hyderabad.

Senior leader and Rajya Sabha members V. Hanumantha Rao was defeated in Amberpet constituency in Hyderabad by BJP's Telangana unit chief G. Kishan Reddy

Veteran Telugu actress Vijaya Shanti, who quit TRS and joined the Congress a couple of months ago, lost the election from Medak assembly constituency.

Sunita Lakshma Reddy and Sudershan Reddy were among several former ministers who tasted defeat.

Latest News: