Wednesday, February 10 2016

Home > News > More News

Counting for Delhi's seven Lok Sabha seats Friday

Posted on May 15 2014 | IANS

New Delhi, May 15 : Counting of votes for Delhi's seven Lok Sabha seats will be held Friday. A total of 150 candidates from various political parties contested the polls.

Unlike previous parliamentary polls, Delhi is witnessing a triangular contest with the advent of the Aam Aadmi Party. The party stunned everyone by bagging 28 seats in the 70-member Delhi assembly in last year's elections.

The outcome of the seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi will have a bearing on the local politics. The capital is currently under President's rule.

Exit polls have predicted four seats for the Bharatiya Janata Party, while the AAP was expected to get possibly 2 seats.

According to pollsters, all seven incumbent Congress parliamentarians were set to lose.

It is to be seen whether the BJP will stake claim to form the government in Delhi, if the party comes to power at the centre.

A total of 8.3 million people cast their votes in Delhi. Counting of votes will begin at 8 a.m. at seven centres.

A total of 2,000 electronic voting machines (EVMs) have been under guard since balloting took place April 10. An estimated 10,000 officials will be involved in the counting process.

Of the 150 candidates, 57 are Independents.

According to official sources, paramilitary personnel will be deployed inside the counting centres while Delhi Police will keep a watch outside.

According to an official, no one would be allowed to enter the counting centres with mobile phones or any electronic gadget.

A dedicated room has been prepared for the media at each counting centre.

The Election Commission has advised political parties to appoint mature people aged 18 years or more as counting agents.

Latest News: