Agartala, May 15 IANS | 5 months ago

Tension prevailed since Wednesday along the India-Bangladesh border in Tripura as Bangladeshi nationals, accompanied by border guards, prevented Indian farmers from cultivating their lands, officials said Thursday.

"When a group of farmers Wednesday went to cultivate their lands at Mohanpur village in Tripura, Bangladeshi nationals along with the Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB) jawans prevented them from doing so," a North Tripura district administration official told reporters here.

Border Security Force (BSF) troopers rushed to the spot, 145 km north of Agartala, and protested the intervention of the BGB personnel.

"Subsequently, the Bangladeshi nationals were dispersed by the BGB troopers, following the protests by the BSF," the official said, adding that such border incidents often take place in various parts of India-Bangladesh border.

BSF's chief spokesman Bhaskar Rawat told IANS: "We have asked the BGB officials to maintain status quo along the 1.2 km stretch of the bordering village till the survey officials of the two countries demarcate the areas. The controversy erupted after the Dhalai river changed its course."

"Border pillars along the disputed areas were also either damaged or are missing due to the change of the river's flow, which now runs along the borders," the BSF official added.

There are paddy fields, rubber gardens and other cultivable lands on the other side of the Indian border as, according to international norms, the barbed wire fencing was erected 150 yards from the zero line along the India-Bangladesh border.

The Indian villagers, after taking permission from the BSF, go every day to their fields and gardens across the fence through specified gates, which are operated by the BSF for notified periods.

Tripura shares an 856-km border with Bangladesh and some parts of the border area remain unfenced. The mountainous terrain and dense forests make the border porous and vulnerable to illegal migrants and intruders crossing over.

(Posted on 15-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |