Hyderabad, May 14 UNI | 2 months ago

The Telugu Desam Party continued its winning streak in Seemandhra while the Congress and Telangana Rashtra Samithi shared the honours in Telangana in the panchayat elections,results of which were announced tonight.

After its impressive performance in the municipal elections,the TDP bagged 5,216 MPTCs and 373 ZPTCs as against 4,199 MPTCs and 275 ZPTCs won by its arch rival YSR Congress in Seemandhra.

As expected,the Congress faced a near rout in the local bodies elections in Seemandhra.

But in Telangana,the Congress put up a better show winning the maximum number of 2351 MPTCs while the TRS claimed 1860 MPTCs.

The TRS was ahead in the ZPTC polls winning 191 ZPTCs as against 166 won by the Congress.

The TDP was in third position in Telangana winning 1061 MPTCs and 53 ZPTCs.

The elections to the urban and rural local bodies were held in March but the counting of votes was withheld due to the just-concluded nine-round general elections.

The counting of votes was taken up yesterday.

(Posted on 15-05-2014)