Hyderabad, Jan 27 IANS | 9 months ago

Congress Monday re-nominated T. Subbarami Reddy, K.V.P. Ramachandra Rao and M.A. Khan for Rajya Sabha from Andhra Pradesh.

While Subbarami Reddy got his third consecutive term, the other two were nominated for their second term.

At a time when legislators are divided along regional lines in view of the central government's decision to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh, the Congress has not taken the risk of naming the fourth candidate and it is likely to support Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) candidate K. Keshava Rao, a former senior Congress leader.

The main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) will contest two seats. The Congress rebels from Seemandhra may field a candidate to spoil the chances of the party's official candidates.

Tuesday is the last day for filing of nominations for six Rajya Sabha seats. Elections, if necessary, will be held on Feb 7.

Congress leaders Nandi Yellaiah and Ratna Bai, who were also trying for re-nomination, were disappointed.

K.V.P. Ramachandra Rao, a close aide of former chief minister Y.S. Rajasekara Reddy, is considered loyal to the central leadership. He did not switch loyalties when Rajasekhara Reddy's son Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy floated YSR Congress party.

Both Subbarami Reddy and Rao are from Seemandhra but they did not revolted against the leadership over Telanana. Khan hails from Telangana region.

(Posted on 27-01-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |