Varanasi, May 12 IANS | 6 months ago

Ajay Rai, Congress candidate from Uttar Pradesh's Varanasi parliamentary constituency, Monday courted controversy when he walked into a polling station to vote with the party symbol tucked on his kurta.

Election law bans the use of any party symbol within 100 metres of the poll station. Officials in the district say the Congress candidate had indeed violated the law.

Dressed in a cream coloured kurta and payjama, Rai walked into the polling station early in the day to cast his vote.

He was accompanied by his wife and he spoke to reporters within 10 metres of the polling station, which again is a breach of law.

Senior district officials told IANS that the returning officer has sought video footage and that action would follow soon.

An FIR was lodged against Gujarat Chief Minister and BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi when he addressed a presser outside a polling station in Gandhinagar and had clicked a selfie with the lotus party symbol in his hand.

The district administration had then clarified that Modi was well outside the 100 metre banned distance when the press conference took place.

Aam Aadmi Party chief Arvind Kejriwal, who is the party's candidate from Varanasi, told reporters that Rai had clearly violated the law.

(Posted on 12-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |