Lucknow, May 10 UNI | 5 months ago

Campaigning for the electrifying crucial sixth and last phase of elections in Uttar Pradesh, will come to an end this evening at 1800 hours where highest number of 18 Lok Sabha seats in 14 districts of Poorvanchal would go to polls on May 12.

BJP's PM candidate Narendra Modi and former Delhi CM and Aam Aadmi Party(AAP) candidate Arvind Kejriwal, both from Varanasi, Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav from Azamgarh, BJP's Yogi Adityanath from Gorakhpur, UP Assembly speaker and SP candidate Mata Prasad Pandey from Doomariaganj, Minister of state for Home and Congress candidate R P N Singh from Kushinagar, Bhojpuri actor and Congress candidate Ravi Kishan from Jaunpur, and BJP MLA Kalraj Mishra from Deoria are the prominent candidates among the 328 candidates in the fray.

There are 63 criminals in the fray including mafia don Mukhtar Ansari(Ghosi), D P Yadav( Ghazipur) and Dhananjay Singh (Independent).

Of the total candidates, 63 or 19 per cent are of criminal background while 93 or 29 per cent contestants are crorepatis.

Campaigning in Poorvanchal in the state has reached its crescendo as almost all the leaders are leaving no stone unturned to woo the voters even on the communal and caste lines.

However, the main battle of campaigning is being witnessed in Varanasi where who's who in politics are camping for the past ten days for respective candidates.

While Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi and UP Chief Minsiter Akhiesh Yadav went for a road show in Varanasi, BJP PM candiatre Narendra Modi went for a massive five rallies in Poorvanchal on the last day of campaigning.

Mr Modi will start his meeting from Kushinagar at 1030 hrs , Deoria at 1140 hrs, Ghosi at 1240 hrs, Robertsganj at 1425 hrs and Ballia at 1600 hrs.

Senior BJP leader Dr Murli Manohar Joshi was camping in Varanasi till May 12. Ruling Samajwadi Party has drawn upon an intensive campaigning programme in Varanasi and Azamgarh today, before the end of the campaigning.

SP state president Akhilesh Yadav will hold a three hour long road show in Varanasi in support of party candidate Kailash Chaurasia, who is pitted against BJP's PM candidate Narendra Modi, AAP's Arvind Kejriwal and Congress candidate Ajay Rai.

Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi held a six kms long road show in varansi starting from Gol Gudda to Lanka crossing in the mornign hours.

SP supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav, will camp in Azamagarh today when he will address three election meetings at Mubarakpur, Jiyanpur and the last one in the city.

AAP candidate from Varanasi Arvind Kejriwal also held a road show yesterday while Mr Modi did it on Thursday last. Mafia don Mukhtar Ansari, who was lodged in Agra jail was given parole for a day today to campaign in Ghosi, from where he is contesting the elections.

(Posted on 10-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |