Kohima, May 10 UNI | 6 months ago

Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, who is expected to move to Delhi as the next Lok Sabha Member of Parliament from Nagaland, has appealed to the party legislators to remain united.

In a rare press communiqu issued by Mr Rio in the wake of reports that the ruling Naga People's Front (NPF) is divided into two opposing camps as two senior Ministers battle it out to succeed.

He expressed his concern and sadness by the current scenario in the party and the state government. The most important concern is that the NPF-led Democratic Alliance of Nagaland government must be able to provide a stable government under a spirit of unity, understanding and oneness. Such an approach is the only way to provide development, progress and economic growth as we continue to strive towards peace.

Terming it a 'crucial juncture,' Mr Rio stated that it was of 'paramount importance that the NPF stay united for the sake of the people, who have given their mandate to us.'

In this regard, the CM has appealed to all sections of the party and the elected members 'to come together and find a consensus solution that will pave the way for a smooth transition of power whenever the need arises.'

Mr Rio pointed out that this was the only way forward to 'ensure stability of the government, unity of the party and implementation of effective governance.'

'The need of the hour is for us to come together, bury our differences and unify the party in the greater interest of the people and the masses,' the CM stated.

The Chief Minister said 'unity' within the NPF 'will further strengthen our common endeavour to take the peace process forward and bring permanent peace and political solution to our people,' the communiqu said.

(Posted on 10-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |