Wednesday, February 10 2016

Home > News > India News

Phase 8: Voting underway in 7 states

Posted on May 07 2014 | IBNS

New Delhi, May 7 : India is undergoing its eighth phase of elections on Wednesday with 64 parliamentary constituencies across seven states going to the hustings.

Voting is being held for 25 seats in Andhra Pradesh, 15 in Uttar Pradesh, 7 in Bihar, 6 in West Bengal, 5 in Uttarakhand, and 2 in Jammu and Kahsmir and 4 in Himachal Pradesh.

A total of 1,737 candidates are contesting in this phase.

The key candidates in the fray on Wednesday are Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi, Congress leaders Beni Prasad Verma, MM Pallam Raju and Mohd. Kaif and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders Smriti Irani, Varun Gandhi, Rajiv Pratap Rudy and Anurag Thakur.

Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) president Ram Vilas Paswan and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) chief Lalu Prasad Yadav's wife Rabri Devi's fates will also be decided in Wednesday's election.

A total of 18.47 crore people are eligible to vote in this round.

Polling is also being held in 175 assembly constituencies in Seemandhra region of Andhra Pradesh simultaneously on Wednesday.

Latest News: