Imphal, Jan 26 IANS | 9 months ago

Republic Day celebrations in Manipur were marred by four powerful bomb blasts amidst high security measures after six militant outfits called for a boycott of the day, police said. However, no one was injured in the explosions.

"A powerful bomb exploded near the deputy commissioner's office in the eastern part of Imphal at 8 a.m. There were three more subsequent explosions by noon in different parts of the city," a police spokesperson said Sunday.

The area where the first bomb went off is close to the official residence of Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh.

Police officials with additional reinforcement rushed to the spots and combing operations were on to nab the guerrillas behind the blasts.

"The bombs were planted in four places of the capital city by the outlawed outfits to kill people on Republic day," police said.

The army Saturday recovered two explosive devices planted in separate places in Bishnupur district. Both were safely defused.

Security was further stepped up at strategic locations in Imphal, including the crowded commercial areas of Ima Market, Paona Bazaar, Thangal Bazaar and Governor Road and civil secretariat areas.

Police also enhanced frisking and patrolling in and around the city.

Six frontline separatist outfits based in Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya and Tripura earlier gave a call to boycott the Republic Day celebrations and asked people to observe a general strike from 1 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Separatist groups have for years boycotted national events and staged violent attacks in the run-up to the celebrations to make their presence felt.

(Posted on 26-01-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |