Kolkata, May 5 IANS | 5 months ago

A video tape of BJP prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi's address at a rally in West Bengal, where he took on the Election Commission, has been sent to the poll panel in Delhi, an official said Monday.

The Bharatiya Janata Party leader Sunday attacked the Election Commission for "failing to prevent rigging and violence" in several states at a rally in Asansol in Burdwan district.

In a strong verbal assault on the commission, which has drawn much flak from the state's opposition parties on the conduct of the April 30 balloting in nine Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal, Modi said the panel should work without bothering about "which government has appointed it".

Modi also dared the poll panel to slap cases against him if it did not like what he was saying.

Amit Ray Chaudhury, officer on special duty in the chief electoral officer's office, here confirmed the move.

"We sent the video of his Asansol rally to the commission in Delhi Sunday evening," he told reporters here Monday.

(Posted on 05-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |