Leh (Jammu and Kashmir), May 4 IANS | 6 months ago

Polling parties and election materials were dispatched Sunday to six far-flung polling stations of Leh district in Jammu and Kashmir for voting in the Ladakh Lok Sabha constituency scheduled May 7.

The six stations are Lingshet, Skumpata, Dipling, Hunkar, Markha and Rumbag.

"Staff along with election material for Lingshet, Skumpata and Dipling polling stations have been airlifted by helicopter. The personnel for Hunker, Markha and Rumbag polling stations will trek to their destination along with the poll material.

"The voting officials and equipment for Yulchung and Nyraks polling stations would be airlifted tomorrow (Monday).

"Returning officer, Leh, Simrandip Singh is supervising the collection and distribution process of election materials/EVMs at Degree College, Leh today (Sunday)," an Election Commission statement issued Sunday said.

Voting process will begin May 7 at 7 a.m. in some of the world's most inaccessible places in the cold desert Ladakh region of the state.

Discovery Channel is filming the Herculean exercise to help people in places that remain cut off from the outside world for more than seven months each year, to exercise their franchise.

Polling stations have been set up at such inaccessible places for as few as 90 voters.

The seat has four candidates in the fray -- one each from the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party besides two independents.

(Posted on 05-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |