Patna, May 3 IANS | 6 months ago

Bihar's ruling Janata Dal-United (JD-U) is divided over lending support to AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal in his electoral battle against BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi in Varanasi.

Senior JD-U leader and spokesperson K.C. Tyagi had Thursday announced the party's support to Kejriwal's candidature in the Uttar Pradesh holy city.

But differences among party members soon surfaced when party president Sharad Yadav questioned Tyagi's announcement, saying he was not aware of it and that it was not a party decision.

Bihar JD-U president Vashsisht Narain Singh said no party leader from the state will campaign for Kejriwal in Varanasi.

"Tyagi's decision to support Kejriwal was taken in a hurry without consulting others," Singh told the media here.

"Till now, (Bihar) Chief Minister Nitish Kumar is yet to say anything on support to Kejriwal," a leader close to Nitish Kumar said.

The Lok Sabha polls will be held in Varanasi May 12, the last phase of the 2014 general elections.

Aam Aadmi Party leader Arvind Kejriwal was the Delhi chief minister for 49 days after the party's stunning debut in the December 2013 assembly elections. He is contesting against Modi and the Congress' Ajay Rai.

(Posted on 03-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |