Phulpur (Allahabad), May 1 UNI | 3 months ago

The chances of the BJP in claiming maiden victory from the historical Phulpur seat represented thrice by the first Prime Minister Pt Jawahar Lal Nehru, hang delicately in the balance in the Lok Sabha elections this year.

Besides, the Brahmin voters, the decision of Kurmi voters mainly Patels will decide whether the party candidate Kesav Prasad Maurya rides the Modi wave successfully or not.

Keshav, a sitting MLA of BJP from Sirathu seat in neighbouring Kaushambi district, is pitted against the sitting MP and BSP candidate Kapil Muni Karwaria, Congress candidate cricketer Mohammad Kaif and Samajwadi Party candidate Dharamraj Singh Patel.

Numerically speaking, the Patels, Brahmins, Kayastha and Muslims hold the key to victory from Phulpur. The closest BJP had been to the victory in Phulpur was in 1998 and 1999 Lok Sabha elections when the party candidate Beni Madhav Bind polled the second highest votes after the winner Samajwadi Party candidates.

This time around, the BJP candidate's prospects were boosted by the party's alliance with Apna Dal that intimately affects the Patel voters in five Assembly segments of the Parliamentary seat.

Anupriya Patel, duaghter of Apna Dal founder late Sonelal Patel, in an election rally in Soraon under Phulpur, injected hopes in the Saffron camp. Bolstering the Modi wave she termed the BJP Prime Ministerial candidate as a Babar Sher (Lion) and appealed the public to vote for Keshav.

(Posted on 01-05-2014)