New Delhi, Apr 29 ANI | 1 year ago

The die will be cast for 438 Lok Sabha constituencies with 89 seats, spread over seven states and two

Union territories, going to polls tomorrow under the tightest ever security cover.

Millions out of fourteen crore voters will cast their franchise in searing heat and threat perceptions in some swathes, mainly Kashmir valley, Bihar and West Bengal.

Voting will begin at 0700 hrs and conclude in most constituencies by 1800 hrs.

Waters will be tested in Gujarat's 26 seats, Andhra Pradesh (17), Punjab (13), Uttar Pradesh (14), West Bengal (nine), Bihar (seven) and one each in Jammu and Kashmir, Dadar and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

The seventh phase will wrap up polling process in 438 seats, leaving only 105 in the remaining two rounds on May 7 and 12.

In tomorrow's round, the Congress will be battling to retain a total of 37 seats it had won in the last elections.The BJP has sitting MPs on 21 seats, the Trinamool and JD (U) five each, the Samajwadi Party and the SAD four apiece, the BSP three, the TDP and TRS two each and the National Conference and All India Majlis-e-ittehadul-e Muslimeen one each. Since morning, candidates and their supporters met people in personal interactions urging them to turn up in large numbers for voting.

(Posted on 29-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries