Deoghar, Apr 29 ANI | 6 months ago

A local court here today stayed the arrest of senior BJP leader and former Bihar Minister Giriraj Singh till May 3, for allegedly making a hate speech during an election rally.

Deogarh District and Sessions Court Judge Pankaj Srivastav passed the order after the former minister moved a petition seeking stay on his arrest.

In his petition, Mr Singh said he had been served with a notice by the Election Commission on the same charges filed at three separate places and that he had already replied to it.

The first of the three FIRs against Mr Singh was lodged with Mohanpur police station in Deogarh, which charged him with hate speech during an election meeting on April 18, where he allegedly said those who opposed BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, would have to find a place in Pakistan.

The FIR also charged him with saying those who exported beef got subsidy while those who reared cows were taxed by the Central government.

Yesterday, a Bokaro district court had rejected his anticipatory bail after the Sub-Divisional Judicial Magistrate Court on April 23 issued non-bailable arrest warrant on the same charges after Mr Singh addressed a poll meet at a place under Harla police station in Bokaro district.

(Posted on 29-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |