Thursday, February 11 2016

Home > News > India News

Have not violated Constitution: Arvind Kejriwal

Posted on Jan 26 2014 | IBNS

New Delhi, Jan 25 : Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, who has been slammed for holding a dharna on the streets of the national capital, on Saturday said he has not violated the Indian Constitution. "Our Constitution gives all of us the right to peaceful protest. It does not say that a chief minister cannot sit on protest for the people. I have not violated the Constitution," said Kejriwal.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) supremo on Saturday took the salute at a pre-Republic Day parade organised at Chhatrasal Stadium by the Delhi Police.

Kejriwal on Tuesday ended his dharna here after two policemen were sent on leave.

According to reports, Delhi Lieutenant Governor Najeeb Jung offered to send Station House Officer (SHO) of Malviya Nagar police station and in charge of the Paharganj PCR Van on leave.

Speaking to media, Kejriwal had said: "Happy to say that this is a victory for the people of Delhi....We have decided to call off our dharna."

"If any woman of Delhi is attacked, then we will not sit quietly," the AAP supremo said.

The AAP supporters and the Delhi police personnel had fought pitched battles on Tuesday on the second day of an indefinite dharna by Kejriwal and his people outside the Rail Bhavan here to demand accountability of the Delhi Police in matters of crime against women and to bring it under Delhi government.

The supporters clashed with cops and broke barricades in the high security area but AAP said those who indulged in violence were not their members.

Latest News: