Bhubaneswar, April 22 IANS | 1 year ago

The Election Commission Tuesday ordered repolling in nine polling stations in Odisha April 25 after allegations of rigging and other irregularities during the April 17 polling in the state.

Repolling will be held in six polling stations in Cuttack district, two in Keonjhar district and one in Kendrapara district, joint chief electoral officer Jyoti Prakash Dash told IANS.

Repolling will start at all the nine polling stations at 7 a.m. and conclude at 5 p.m., he said.

Simultaneous elections for 21 Lok Sabha and 147 assembly seats in the state were held in two phases April 10 and April 17.

Opposition parties, including the Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), have accused the ruling Biju Janata Dal of rigging and tampering the electronic voting machines (EVM) in these voting centres.

(Posted on 23-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries