Hyderabad, Apr 22 UNI | 3 months ago

After almost 18 years, constituency- hopper Union Minister for Science and Technology S.Jaipal Reddy returned his home turf Mahbubnagar to contest the 2014 elections.

To win his sixth election the veteran politician has chosen one of the most backward, arid and second largest districts in the undivided Andhra Pradesh.

Jaipal Reddy won the Mahbubnagar LS seat on behalf of Janata Party in 1984, he lost elections in 1998 as Janata Dal candidate, and then he joined Congress and won Mirayalaguda LS seat of Nalgonda district in 1999 and again in 2004 elections.

He shifted to Chevella in Ranga Reddy district on the fringes of Hyderabad city in 2009 and won the elections for Congress.

Jaipal Reddy denies allegation that he frequently changes his constituency.'In the first place, Miryalaguda was cancelled during delimitation and I was advised by the party to move to Chevella,' he said.

Now, he moved out of Chevella because the natives, former home minister Sabitha Indra Reddy and her son Karthik Reddy, wanted Jaipal, an outsider, to move out.

Mahbubnagar is witnessing a very tough triangular contest with stalwarts such as Jaipal Reddy (Cong), former minister Nagam Janarthan Reddy (BJP) and former MP, Jintender Reddy (TRS) in the fray.

With all the three candidates belonging to the same district and more or less strong votaries of separate Telangana cause, the competition is fierce.

On his part Jaipal already got the list of contenders he wanted for all the seven Assembly segments, Kodangal, Narayanpet, Mahbubnagar, Jadcherla, Devarakadra, Maktal and Shadnagar to ensure victory in the Lok Sabha segment.

In 2009 this seat was bagged by none other than TRS chief K. Chandrasekhar Rao who won the elections with a thin margin of 20,000 votes by defeating nearest rival Devarakonda Vithal Rao of Congress who polled 3,46,385 votes.

TRS almost lost the election despite TDP support that time under the grand alliance.

(Posted on 22-04-2014)