New Delhi, Apr 22 UNI | 3 months ago

Electioneering for 117 Lok Sabha seats, spread over 12 states and one Union territory, ends in the evening today as they go to polls in the sixth phase of the general elections 2014.

This phase involves all the 39 Lok Sabha constituencies in Tamil Nadu, where the performance of the ruling Congress and the BJP would be crucial for their final tally.

While the Congress is going it alone in this southern state this time, the BJP has struck an alliance with about half a dozen parties.

Ruling AIADMK had initially entered into an alliance with the Left parties but later the fell through.

Besides Tamil Nadu, 12 constituencies of Uttar Pradesh, which
sends 80 MPs to the Lok Sabha, are also going to polls on April 24.

Among those whose fate would be decided in this phase in the state are BJP candidate and actor-turned-politician Hema Malini, who is contesting from Mathura. She is pitted against sitting MP Jayant Chaudhary of RLD.

Also at stake is the fate of former SP leader Amar Singh, who has now joined the RLD which has entered into an alliance with the Congress. He has been fielded from Fatehpur Sikri.

Mainpuri, from where Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav is contesting, is also going to polls in this phase. SP leader Ramgopal Yadav's son Akshay is trying his luck in Ferozabad.

The sixth phase also involves 19 constituencies of Maharashtra
where Priya Dutt and Milind Deora of the Congress besides Anant Geete of the Shiv Sena are in the fray.

Ms Dutt is pitted against Ms Poonam Mahajan, daughter of late BJP leader Pramod Mahanjan.

In Madhya Pradesh, polling for 10 seats involves Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj(Vidisha),

Sumitra Mahajan (Indore) and Meenakshi Natarajan of the Congress(Mandsaur).

Besides, there are six seats of West Bengal and at stake is the
fate of Deepadas Munshi of the Congress and President Pranab Mukherjee's son Abhijeet.

Ms Munshi is pitted against her husband's brother Satya Ranjan
Das Munshi who has been fielded by the Trinamool Congress.

Abhijeet Mukherjee is also seeking re-election from Jangipur
where he had won in a bypoll after his father's election as President in 2012.

This time he is facing contest from Trinamool Congress which had not fielded any candidate against him in 2012.

Five constituencies of Rajasthan are also going to polls in this phase, including Tonk-Swai Madhopur from where Union Minister Namo Narain Meena is contesting.

In Chattisgarh, seven seats are involved in this phase, while in Assam six seats, including Dhubri from where AIUDF leader Badruddin Ajmal is trying his luck, are going to polls.

Elections will be held to four seats of Jharkhand, including Dumka, from where JMM leader Shibu Soren is seeking re-election.

Besides, there is one seat each in Jammu and Kashmir(Anantnag),
and Puducherry.

In Anantnag, sitting MP Mirza Mehbob Beg of the National Conference is pitted against Mehbooba Mufti of the People's Democratic Party(PDP). In Puducherry UT, Union Minister V Narayansamy is seeking re-election.

(Posted on 22-04-2014)