Saturday, February 13 2016

Home > News > More News

FIR filed against Giriraj Singh

Posted on Apr 21 2014 | IBNS

Patna, Apr 20 : A First Information Report (FIR) has been registered against BJP's Bihar leader Giriraj Singh for his remark that party's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi's opponents will be sent to Pakistan.

The Bihar Police registered the FIR against the leader.

Even after being criticised for his remark of sending opponents of BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi to Pakistan, party's Bihar leader Giriraj Singh said he stands by his statement.

"I stand by my statement," he told NDTV channel.

"I said all those with their terrorism motives against Narendra Modi will be sent to Pakistan," he said.

Meanwhile, the BJP on Sunday disapproved of the remarks made by its leader Giriraj Singh that all those opposed to party's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi should go to Pakistan as they will have 'no place' to stay in India.

"BJP doesn't approve of irresponsible statement given by Giriraj Singh," former deputy chief minister of Bihar and BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi tweeted on Sunday.

His remarks drew criticisms from the Congress party as well.

Congress leader Meem Afzal said, "Will they send all the parties that do not come under NDA to Pakistan or what? The EC should take cognizance of this remark and send him to jail."

Senior JD(U) leader KC Tyagi said, "Will complain to Election Commission that Giriraj Singh be arrested for hate speech and for trying to create division between two sections of society."

This comes after Giriraj Singh has said those who opposes Narendra Modi will find 'no place' to stay in India after the results of the ongoing Lok Sabha polls are declared.

"Those who want to stop Narendra Modi are looking towards Pakistan. They won't get a place in India in future. They will have to go to Pakistan," Singh had said while addressing a gathering in Jharkhand.

He reportedly made the remarks in the presence of former BJP president Nitin Gadkari.

Latest News: