Chennai, April 18 IANS | 6 months ago

DMK Rajya Sabha member T.M.Selvaganapathy resigned from parliament Friday after being convicted in a cheating case and being sentenced to undergo two years rigorous imprisonment.

Speaking to reporters at Dharmapuri, around 310 km from here, Selvaganapathy said as a person who respects the law, he has put in his papers as a member of Rajya Sabha following his conviction and sentencing by a Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) court Thursday.

It is a testing time for him in politics, he added.

Along with him, the CBI court here sentenced four others including two retired IAS officers for two years rigorous imprisonment and a fined them Rs.25,000 each.

The case related to the time when Selvaganapathy was minister for rural development and local administration in the AIADMK government (1991-1996).

According to the CBI, Selvaganapathy, IAS officers J.T. Acharyulu and M. Sathyamurthy and three others - M. Krishnamurthy, A. Arokiaraj and T. Bharathi - conspired to cheat the central and the state governments between 1995-1996, causing a wrongful loss of Rs.2.3 million to the exchequer.

The charge was that Selvaganapathy and others ordered construction/erection of cremation sheds, through cooperative societies under Jawahar Rozgar Yojana (JRY), despite this not being an identified item of work under the scheme.

Further, under the JRY scheme, no advance payments should be made - a rule which they flouted.

However, the convicts entrusted the work to Karungulam Cooperative Society for construction of cremation sheds in Nagapattinam district and payments were made through demand drafts.

The sub-standard work was executed through sub-contractors and not in conformity with the specifications to encash the demand drafts.

During the trial, Arokiaraj died and the charge against him was abated.

(Posted on 18-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |