By Neeraj Bajpai and Manoj Bhadra Lucknow/New Delhi, Apr 16 UNI | 3 months ago

Eleven seats in Uttar Pradesh may script a different story for the BJP which had got only Aonla and Pilibhit last time.

Thursday's polling may make or mar BJP 's plan of reaping rich dividends in the state, which sends 80 members to the Lok Sabha. BJP had finished second in Moradabad and Bareilly. In Moradabad, Kunwar Sarvesh Kumar 'Rakesh' had polled 33.14 per cent of the votes while the party 's Santosh Gangwar had secured 29.99 per cent of the mandate in Bareilly.

For the ruling Samajwadi party in the state, this round is crucial as it had bagged four out of the 11 constituencies.

Waters will be tested in Nagina(SC), Moradabad, Rampur, Sambhal, Amroha ,Badaun, Bareilly, Pilibhit, Shahjahanpur and Kheri.

Ajit Singh's Rashtriya Lok Dal, which has inked a poll pact with Congress this time, had won from Amroha in the last elections. The party 's Devendra Nagpal with 40.09 per cent votes had defeated Mehboob Ali of the SP who garnered 27.05 per cent of the mandate.

Fending off anti-incumbency, the polling-bound seats are significant for the Congress which had ended up with three to SP's four in 2009.

Congress victors were Mohammad Azharuddin from Moradabad, Praveen Aron, Bareilly and Zafar Ali Naqvi, Kheri.

The Congress appears confident of improving the tally because of its tie-up with the RLD which, it asserts, retains its grip on Jats, elated with their slice in the OBC quota pie.

SP has pinned its hopes in tomorrow 's round as it had cornered four seats, and had finished second in three "indicating its hold on seven constituencies.

In Nagina(SC), Yashvir Singh had left Ram Kishan Singh of BSP far behind with 27.22 per cent votes against its winning percentage of 36.49.

The party won the Rampur seat when its nominee Jaya Prada Nahta torpedoed Congress candidate Noor Bano 's prospects who polled 32.96 per cent votes.

Jaya Prada, now contesting from Bijnor on the RLD ticket, had secured 38.06 per cent of the mandate.

(Posted on 16-04-2014)