Imphal, Apr 16 UNI | 3 months ago

The voting for Inner Manipur Lok Sabha seat will be held tomorrow, wherein over eight lakh electorate are eligible to exercise their franchise.

As many as eight candidates are in the fray for the Inner Manipur seat, including Congress MP, Dr Th Meinya, Dr M Nara of CPI, Oinam Indira (Independent), BJP candidate Dr R K Ranjan, Dr G Tonsana Sharma of Manipur Democratic People's Front, Trinamool Congress candidate S Manaobi, Kh Ibomcha of AAP and Oinam Jotin of Jai Maha Bharath Party.

Militants, who have signed Suspension of Operation (SoO), can take part in the election, Chief Electoral Officer O Nabakishore said.

A total of 874704 electorate (male-423026, female-446909) are eligible to exercise their franchise in 1,406 polling stations in 32 Assembly Constituencies covering four valley districts.

There will be two General Observers, one Expenditure Observers-Police Observers and 24 Awareness Observers.

About 7,030 Polling Personnel will be deployed. The casting of votes will begin from 0700 hrs and end at 1700 hrs.

The CEO said there are 78 hyper-sensitive polling stations, 832 sensitive polling stations and the rest 346 normal.

About 136 companies of state armed forces including IRB, 47 companies of unarmed state forces and 68 companies of paramilitary forces will be utilised during the poll. Web-casting will be done in 75 polling stations.

The election campaigning concluded at 1600 hrs last eveningt and candidates and their workers were closeted for last minute work out today.

In the first phase of elections, ten candidates were in the fray for the Outer Manipur seat (ST) and polls were held on April 9.

(Posted on 16-04-2014)