Itanagar, Apr 16 UNI | 4 months ago

The Election Commission has decided to hold fresh repoll in 34 polling stations under the eleven assembly constituencies scattered in five districts of Arunachal Pradesh on April 19.

The state had conducted simultaneous elections for two Parliamentary and 49 assembly seats in 2158 polling stations on April 9, recording more than 72 per cent polling.

A letter issued by the Election Commission of India here late last evening said the repoll has been necessitated following the damage of EVMs, disruption of voting and other reasons.

A total of 12,698 electorate are expected to cast their ballots again to choose their representatives in the assembly.

Out of 34 polling stations, 33 fall under Arunachal West Parliamentary constituency and one is under East Parliamentary segment.

The highest number of polling booths where re-poll will be conducted is under Kurung Kumey district where fresh polls will be held in 12 polling booths. Of these 8 are under Tali (ST), 3 in Koloriang (ST) and one booth in Palin(ST) assembly segment.

The state had recorded re-poll in 14 polling centres in Lok Sabha election and 33 polling stations in assembly polls held separately in 2009.

The Commission further ordered holding re-election in Upper

Subansiri district, where nine polling stations under three ACs have been considered for fresh polls.

These are - four in Dumporijo (ST), three in Raga (ST) AC and two in Daporijo (ST) ACs.

In East Kameng district, the Commission has directed holding re-election for four booths in Chayangtajo (ST) AC, three polling stations under Bameng (ST) AC and one under Seppa (West) (ST) Assembly constituencies.

The letter also ordered conducting fresh polls in four polling stations under Along (ST) AC in West Siang district.

However, the EC has ordered re-poll only in Sissen polling station under Pangin (ST) AC in Arunachal East Parliamentary constituency of East Siang district. At Sissen, people had boycotted the election on 'No Road No Vote' issue.

In the 60-members Legislative Assembly, the election was held for 49 seats, following declaration of 11 uncontested INC MLAs of the ruling Congress.

Those who were declared uncontested winners, include Chief Minister Nabam Tuki and two of his Cabinet colleagues - Pema Khandu from Mukto (ST) and Tanga Byaling from Nacho (ST) ACs. The Chief Minister was elected unopposed from Sagalee (ST) AC.

(Posted on 16-04-2014)