New Delhi, April 16 IANS | 6 months ago

The Election Commission Wednesday asked news organisations to desist from publishing opinion polls that include constituencies where voting has already taken place.

Taking note of certain opinion polls which included 111 constituencies where voting took place April 7, 9, 10, 11 and 12, the poll panel said: "This dissemination of results of the opinion poll in effect becomes dissemination of results of exit polls in respect of the said constituencies."

The commission said in a letter to chief editors of all TV channels and the print media that it has noticed that "the results of the aforesaid opinion poll indeed included the number of seats expected to be won by political parties where polls have already been held".

The commission said the telecast and publishing of opinion polls by some news organisations amounts to violation of the provision banning exit polls.

"In consideration of the above, and in order to maintain level playing field and to ensure free and fair election, the commission advises all print and electronic media not to resort to the type of practice as mentioned above which for all practical purposes means publication of exit poll while claiming that the same is only an opinion poll," the letter said.

(Posted on 16-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |