New Delhi, April 16 IANS | 6 months ago

Even as it is conducting the Lok Sabha polls, the Election Commission is also holding a training course on election management for officials from 19 countries.

Sources said officials from Bhutan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Congo, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Georgia, Ghana, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Lesotho, Malaysia, Palestine, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Tajikistan, Tanzania and Yemen were taking part in the course.

The poll panel will provide theoretical and practical exposure to the officials.

The course is the third in the last two years under the Indian Technical and Economic Cooperation (ITEC) programme of the external affairs ministry as there was a lot of demand for it, the sources said.

The "Third Special Course on Election Management" began April 9 and will conclude April 23.

The visiting officials have learnt about various aspects of election management, including use of electronic voting machines (EVMS).

The course is being conducted by the India International Institute of Democracy and Election Management (IIIDEM) in the Election Commission.

ITEC is a flagship capacity-building programme of the ministry under the "south-south cooperation framework". Started in 1964 with a modest 75 civilian training programme slots, the ITEC had 8,280 such slots in 2013-14.

"Last year, 10,000 scholarships were there in civil and defence training programmes," an official said.

(Posted on 16-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |