Agartala, April 11 IANS | 7 months ago

Balloting takes place Saturday for Left ruled Tripura's second Lok Sabha seat.

The state's electorate voted for the other seat Monday.

Over 1.13 million voters - half of whom are women - are eligible to exercise their franchise to choose their Lok Sabha member from the tribal reserved Tripura East Lok Sabha constituency from among the 12 candidates, including two women.

"As Tripura shares borders with Bangladesh (856 km), Assam (53 km) and Mizoram (109 km), tight security measures have been taken in the mountainous Lok Sabha constituency. Helicopters would be pressed into service to oversee the polling," state Chief Electoral Officer Ashutosh Jindal told IANS.

The Border Security Force (BSF) has mounted heightened vigil along Tripura's boundary with Bangladesh, most parts of which are still unfenced and porous.

"We have deployed additional troopers along the Bangladesh borders to prevent the trans-border movement of the inimical elements during the electioneering period," BSF's chief spokesman Bhaskar Rawat told IANS.

On April 7, over 86 percent of the 1.2 million voters cast their votes in the Tripura West constituency.

The CEO said that of the 1,490 polling stations spread across the Tripura East parliamentary constituency, 18 polling stations have been categorised as hyper-sensitive and 252 sensitive.

In Saturday's polling, the main battle will be between Jitendra Choudhury of the Communist Party of India-Marxist and Sachitra Debbarma of the Congress.

Choudhury is Tripura's industry, commerce and rural development minister, while Debbarma is a National Award winning teacher.

Others in the fray include Parikshit Debbarma (Bharatiya Janata Party), Bhriguram Reang (Trinamool Congress), and Karna Bijoy Jamatia (Aam Aadmi Party).

Since 1952, the Left has won the Tripura East seat 10 times while the Congress secured it five times. The CPI-M has been winning the seat uninterrupted since 1996.

Former chief minister Dasaratha Deb of the CPI-M (1993-98) won the seat four times while the party's central committee member Bajuban Reang was elected from the constituency a record seven times.

(Posted on 11-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |