Hyderabad, Apr 9 UNI | 3 months ago

The filing of nomination papers for 119 assembly and 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana ended today as the offices of returning officers witnessed heavy rush of aspirants who thronged them to file their papers for the elections slated for April 30.

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) President K Chandrashekar Rao filed his papers from Medak Lok Sabha and Gajwel assembly cosntituency, while his daughter Kavitha filed her nomination from Nizamabad Lok sabha constituency.

Union Minister S Jaipal Reddy filed his papers from Mahabubnagar Lok sabha constituency and senior BJP leader and former union minister B Dattatreya filed his nomination from Secunderabad Lok sabha cosntituency.

Popular film actor Vijaya Shanti filed he nomination papers from Medak assembly constituency as a Congress nominee.

CPI state unit secretary Dr K Narayana filed his nomination from Khammam Lok Sabha constituency which was allotted to the CPI following its alliance with the Congress.

Among the other prominent candidates who filed their papers were Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee Ponna

Lakshmiah (Jangaon assembly seat),BJP's Telangana unit President G Kishen Reddy (Amberpet assembly constituency), Ch Vidayasagar rao (Karimnagar Lok sabha constituency) and Akbaruddin Owaisi, leader of Majlis Party in assembly from Chandrangutta assembly constituency.

Many candidates, including the TRS chief, offered prayers at temples and came in processions to the offices of returning officers to file their papers.

The scrutiny of the nominations will take place tomorrow.

Speaking after filing his papers in Medak, Mr Rao appealed to the people to teach both the Congress and the TDP a lesson for painting TRS as a party of landlords.

He sought the people's cooperation for creating a new and prosperous Telangana.

(Posted on 09-04-2014)